Community Ensemble Theatre (CET) continues a decades-long tradition of excellent theatre at Community High School in Ann Arbor, Michigan. We strive to create high-level productions while providing a nurturing environment where every ensemble member is valued and supported. With more than 120 students from across the Ann Arbor school district participating every year, CET is the largest extracurricular group at Community High, engaging students with challenging, thought-provoking, sometimes off-beat, always entertaining shows in the humble blackbox, the Craft Theater.

Photo Courtesy of AAPS

Photo Courtesy of AAPS

Quinn Strassel, Director

Since 2010, Quinn Strassel has served as director of CET, working to achieve excellence with each show while creating a supportive environment for all students. In 2017, he was awarded "Teacher of the Year" by the Ann Arbor/Ypsilanti Regional Chamber largely for his efforts leading CET. Previous to his time in Ann Arbor, Quinn led the theatre program at the High School of Telecommunication Arts and Technology in Brooklyn, New York. He has directed more than 25 productions and has worked with several other local theatre organizations including the Burns Park Players, Ann Arbor in Concert, and the Pioneer Theatre Guild.

CET Board Members

Quinn Strassel, Group Sponsor

Student Board
Chloe Kurihara, President
Sam Major, Vice President
Romeo Klobucar, Merchandise
Sonja Benjanmins-Carey, Publicity
Lily Sickman-Garner, Secretary
Jasmine Lowenstein, Underclassman Rep

Parent Board
Margo Lowenstein, President & House Manager
Anne Heise, Treasurer
Katie Jones, Secretary
Margie Morris, Co-Producer
Leslie Rutkowski, Co-Producer